armywifelife · Recipes

Easy Energy Egg Bites

I don’t write much lately, which I’m sure you’ve read in the #boostagram post that I’ve been having some joint pains and numbness, especially in my fingers, wrists, elbows, hips, knees and ankles. I’m seeing a rheumatologist soon, so hopefully we’ll have some answers! Which leads me to discuss my plan for this blog. As far as blog posts goes, at the moment I plan on writing as many of them as I can on a good day when my joints agree to cooperate and then post them either in a lump sum or pre-scheduled, which is also why I’ve started a bookstagram on Instagram. (my bookstagram handle: @Ms.Evas.Library) Because talking is easier than typing and irritates my joints less. Am I worried? Yes, I am. The concerned look on my family doctor’s face as she reads through my chart whenever I visit her does not put my mind at ease. So I am taking one day at a time and trying to focus on the good things.

Okay, that’s the update on health and life, let’s move on to what we’re here for: FOOD! As I have mentioned a while ago that Jack and I have been using our instant pot more as we adjust to the new diabetic friendly life style, egg bites are the one of the newest snacks & quick breakfast items that we’ve come to love. (plus it’s a lot cheaper than what you get from Starbucks…)

We’ve tried out two different versions: oven baked and steamed via Instant Pot. Both are good and tasty, which I’ll share both of them here.

You’ll need:

Instant Pot egg molds, we got ours from Amazon for $15 for 2.

Mini Muffin tins

cooking spray

1 dozen eggs.

1lb ground turkey. ( We used turkey because it is leaner, but you can use your favorite choice of meat: ground beef, turkey, chicken, pork…or you can make it complete vegetarian by substituting meats with portobello mushrooms)

1 bunch of green onion, finely chopped

1 cup of shredded carrots

1 Jalapino pepper, seeded and diced.

1 poblano pepper, seeded and diced.

2 cups of mini color peppers, seeded and finely diced.

1 tbsp Garlic, finely chopped.

1 tbsp Ginger, finely chopped.

Seasoning:

1/4 tsp ground cumin & red chili flakes

salt & pepper, to taste

How to:

  1. Spray the mini muffin tin and the instant pot egg mold with cooking spray, make sure it’s well coated. Set aside. In a 12″ deep skillet, brown the ground turkey/ meat of your choice on medium heat. Drain the excess fat then add the white part of the green onion, garlic and ginger, cumin and red chili flakes. Cook for additional 3 minutes.
  2. Add finely diced peppers and shredded carrots and any other veggies you desire. Stir and cook until the meat is cook through. Turn off the heat and let it cool.
  3. Crack 1 dozen of the eggs in a prep bowl , season the eggs with salt & peppers then whisk until well mixed. Add the cooled meat mixture into the bowl, gently fold the meats until well combined with the eggs.
  4. Use a ladel or spoon, start filling the mini muffin tin and the instant pot egg mold.
  5. For instant pot egg bites: cover the egg mold with foil and place it on a steam rack. Fill the inner pot with 1 cup of water, place the egg bites into the inner pot. Cover with lid, make sure your vent is sealed. Press “steam” and adjust the time to 8 minutes. When the timer beeps, let it release steam naturally. ( that means don’t manually flip the seal and release the steam). This process will take about 10 minutes, just in time for the oven baked egg bites to finish cooking. 🙂
  6. For oven baked egg bites: make sure your oven is preheated to 400 degrees, place the mini muffin pan on a baking tray that’s slightly bigger than the muffin pan for easy removal. Bake the egg bites for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown.
  7. Remove the egg bites from heat and set them on a wired rack to cool completely.
  8. Once the egg bites are cooled, store them in a freezer safe bag or container. You can reheat them in a microwave for 2-4 minutes, depend on how many you are cooking at once.
  9. Enjoy!

Tips:

a. Use a food processor or food chopper to save time and speed.

b. You can put a cup of water in the baking tray or a separate oven safe container to prevent the egg bites from overcooking and stick to the bottom of the muffin pan.

c. When reheating the egg bites in the microwave, I find it best when I cover it with a damp paper towel or a few sparkle of water directly on the frozen egg bites.

d. If you want to cut down on cholesterols, skip the egg yolks and just use the egg whites. (don’t waste the yolks! You can feed your house plant(s) with it or use it to make pancakes and other yummy foods! 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.